London Overground lines to get new names by end of 2024

London Overground lines to get new names by end of 2024

London’s six Overground train lines are set to be given new names.

Once implemented, each of the lines will have its own individual name as Transport for London (TfL) hopes to make the system easier to navigate and make service disruption announcements easier to understand.

The names are due changed by the end of 2024, with Londoners to be consulted on monikers that could be based on “historic locations and forgotten stories”.

The six routes are:

  • Gospel Oak to Barking Riverside
  • Euston to Watford Junction
  • Highbury and Islington to New Cross / Crystal Palace / West Croydon / Crystal Palace / Clapham
  • Liverpool Street to Enfield Town / Chingford / Cheshunt
  • Romford to Upminster
  • Stratford to Richmond / Clapham Junction.

TfL is working with the Commission for Diversity in the Public Realm to work on themes ahead of public consultation on potential names.

Mayor of London Sadiq Khan said: “There are so many Londoners, historic locations and forgotten stories from our city that need retelling.

“Naming the lines will not only help educate visitors about what our amazing city and incredible history but will also make it easier for people who live, work or visit London to more easily navigate the city.”

The London Overground will remain as “the umbrella brand” and it will keep its orange logo.

Increased usability and comprehension of the network, greater customer confidence, clearer wayfinding, and clearer service disruption information are listed as benefits of the change.

Recommended For You