South east London elections May 5: What you need to know

Voters over south east London will have the opportunity to elect their councillors to represent their ward for the next four years on Thursday.

The polling stations will be open between 7am and 10pm, but as long as you are in the queue before closing time, you are within your right to cast your vote.

Your closest polling station will be included on the polling card sent to you in the post.

To vote in the upcoming local elections, you need to have registered in advance and over the age of 18.

You do not need to bring any form of identification with you to vote and you also don’t need to take your polling card with you.

Local councillors are elected for four-year terms by those living in the local community to represent the views of the area.

They are responsible for a wide range of issues from transport, council tax, rubbish collection, planning applications, and managing mental health services.

The results of the local elections are expected to be announced throughout the day on Friday.

The elections for councils across south east London include:

Lewisham – See every candidate nominated in Lewisham

Greenwich – See every candidate nominated in Greenwich

Bexley – See every candidate nominated in Bexley

Bromley – See every candidate nominated in Bromley

Those who live in Crystal Palace may have to check where they are supposed to vote regarding the council elections, and who exactly they are voting for.

This is because Crystal Palace straddles four separate London councils, resulting in a unique situation where one area is represented by 14 different councillors across four councils.

Bromley controls the east, Lambeth is in charge in the west, Southwark reigns over the north, and Croydon has responsibilities over the south.

The London Borough of Lewisham will also host its Mayoral elections and voters can choose from seven candidates.

Mayor of Lewisham candidates include Caroline Attfield (Con), Andy Beadle (TU & Soc), Damien Egan (Lab), Nick Humberstone (Green), Chris Maines (Lib Dem), Maureen Martin (Christian PA), Roger NM Mighton (Independent).

Recommended For You