London Stansted Airport: The 54 red list countries you should currently avoid travelling to

Ever since the Covid-19 pandemic started, holidays abroad have turned into a complex minefield of PCR tests and traffic light lists.

The traffic light system for foreign travel means that there are differing rules depending on which country you travel to.

And red list countries have very strict advice – don’t travel to them.

Read more: The latest Stansted Airport news

There are currently 54 countries on the red list, but the Government updates it every four weeks, which can make it hard to keep track.

So if you’re trying to book a holiday and want to know which places to avoid, don’t worry – this article has you covered.

Before you travel back to England from a red list country, you must follow testing requirements as well as book a quarantine hotel package for when you return.

The period has to be spent in a managed quarantine hotel for ten full days from the point of your arrival.

Despite the strict rules, guidance is clear from the Government and the Foreign Office and it says that Brits should not travel to countries on the red list.

Sign up to the EssexLive newsletter below for the latest news straight to your inbox:

If you’re looking for a way to stay up-to-date with the latest breaking news from around Essex, the EssexLive newsletter is a good place to start.

The twice-daily update will deliver the top news and features to your inbox every morning and evening.

We choose the most important stories of the day to include in the newsletter, including crime, court news, long reads, traffic and travel, food and drink articles and more.

Signing up to the newsletter is simple. All you have to do is to click here and type in your email address.

It’s one of the many ways that you can read the news that matters to you from EssexLive.

The rules are changing soon though, as from Monday, October 4 it’ll be much simpler.

There will just be a single red list of countries, with simplified travel measures for arrivals from the rest of the world.

The rules for travel from countries and territories not on the red list will depend on your vaccination status.

For now, the traffic light system is still in place.

Here’s the full list of countries and territories you should not travel to:

Full list of 54 red countries

  • Afghanistan
  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Burundi
  • Cape Verde
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Congo (Democratic Republic)
  • Costa Rica
  • Cuba
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Eritrea
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • French Guiana
  • Georgia
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Indonesia
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mayotte
  • Mexico
  • Mongolia
  • Montenegro
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Namibia
  • Nepal
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Réunion
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Uganda
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Has your holiday been affected this year? Sign up here and let us know in the comments below.

Read More
Read More

Recommended For You