Who are the new members of the London Assembly?

There can be 12 new members of the London Assembly this time period following the conclusion of the GLA elections this weekend.

Although none of the 14 constituency seats modified palms between events, seven of the Assembly members in these seats stood down or retired earlier than the election, with new candidates taking their place.

There have been additionally 5 new Assembly members elected to the London-wide seats who will be a part of the re-elected Sian Berry, Caroline Pidgeon, Caroline Russell, Shaun Bailey, Andrew Boff and Susan Hall.

Joining returning constituency members Tony Devenish, Onkar Sahota, Keith Prince, Len Duvall, Leonie Cooper, Joanne McCartney and Unmesh Desai are the following new constituency Assembly members:

Marina Ahmad – Lambeth & Southwark – Labour

With Florence Eshalomi standing down from the London Assembly earlier than the election to concentrate on her duties as an MP, Marina Ahmad was chosen to run in the Lambeth & Southwark constituency.

Before being chosen to run as an Assembly member, Ms Ahmad was a councillor representing the Crystal Palace ward on Bromley Council the place she was her get together’s spokesperson for schooling.

Ms Ahmad has beforehand spoken out about the controversial Silvertown Tunnel challenge, saying by way of social media final 12 months that she would ask the Mayor of London to “pause and evaluation” the challenge if elected to the Assembly.

Anne Clarke – Barnet & Camden – Labour

American-born Anne Clarke was chosen to take the place of Andrew Dismore, who retired forward of the election.

Ms Clarke had been a councillor since 2018, representing the Child’s Hill ward on Barnet Council.

Before changing into a councillor, Ms Clarke had campaigned on a number of native points and is one of the founders of the Child’s Hill meals financial institution.

The new Assembly member has pledged to work with TfL to make sure extra accessible journey and to increase the mayor’s tree planting program in Barnet and Camden.

Peter Fortune – Bexley & Bromley – Conservative

Joining the London Assembly as the City Hall Conservative group’s new deputy chief is Peter Fortune, who will exchange MP Gareth Bacon.

A Bromley councillor for 10 years, Mr Fortune has served as deputy chief since 2017 and has overseen the youngsters, schooling and households portfolio since 2015.

Mr Fortune has pledged to combat any makes an attempt to develop on London’s inexperienced belt, and has stated he’ll “press” TfL to enhance bus companies in Bexley and Bromley.

Neil Garratt – Croydon & Sutton – Conservative

Sutton councillor Neil Garratt will take over from the retired Steve O’Connell to symbolize the Croydon & Sutton constituency in the London Assembly.

Housing was a key focus of Mr Garratt’s marketing campaign, and he has pledged to avoid wasting family-sized homes in the boroughs and combat the growth of small one and two-bedroom flats.

Mr Garratt has additionally stated he’s “decided” to get solutions over the deadly Croydon tram crash of 2016 which killed seven individuals, in order that “the deeper issues are sorted, not ignored”.

Krupesh Hirani – Brent & Harrow – Labour

A Brent councillor since 2010, Krupesh Hirani was chosen to take over from Navin Shah, who retired earlier than the election.

Mr Hirani has stated that his “fast precedence” can be jobs and London’s restoration from the Covid-19 pandemic, although he has additionally pledged to hold out an audit to make sure an ample police presence in Brent and Harrow.

Having pledged to be a “champion for younger individuals” throughout his marketing campaign, Mr Hirani has additionally stated he’ll arrange a younger individuals’s steering group to offer them a voice in City Hall and permit them to take their points to the Mayor of London.

Sem Moema – North East – Labour

Hackney councillor Sem Moema was chosen to switch Jennette Arnold, who retired earlier than the election having served on the Assembly for 21 years and in the North East constituency for 17 years.

Now representing Hackney, Islington and Waltham Forest, Ms Moema has pledged to face up for migrant communities and work to enhance renters’ rights.

Ms Moema has stated that the London Assembly ought to assist councils to construct council properties, partially by maximising funding and releasing the GLA’s surplus land.

Nicholas Rogers – South West – Conservative

Following the retirement of Tony Arbour, who held the South West constituency since the Assembly’s formation, Nicholas Rogers was chosen to run for the seat by the Conservatives.

Unlike the different newly elected constituency Assembly members, Mr Rogers has not come from a council background, having been a particular constable for the Metropolitan Police in addition to a profession railway employee.

The new Assembly member can be the founder of TedxKingstonUponThames, a Ted Talks fashion collection of occasions that offers a platform to locals.

A former TfL worker, Mr Rogers is eager to problem Sadiq Khan on transport and has known as for the Crossrail 2 challenge to start, which might join south west London and Surrey with elements of Hertfordshire.

In addition to the seven new constituency members, 5 of the London-wide Assembly members elected over the weekend can be new additions to the Assembly.

Elly Baker – Labour

A commerce unionist and activist for greater than 20 years, Elly Baker was first on Labour’s checklist of London-wide candidates this election.

Ms Baker has been a London regional consultant on Labour’s National Policy Forum and a nationwide organiser for the National Education Union.

Emma Best – Conservative

Emma Best is a councillor for the Endlebury Ward in Waltham Forest who works in youngsters’s companies.

Having completed third in the London Assembly North East constituency election, Ms Best was elected to the Assembly as the fourth member on the Conservative get together’s London-wide checklist.

Ms Best has campaigned for early intervention to forestall younger individuals from getting concerned in violent crime.

Hina Bokhari – Liberal Democrat

Joining the re-elected Caroline Pidgeon as the second Liberal Democrat on the London Assembly is Merton councillor Hina Bokhari.

A trainer of 20 years, Ms Bokhari has stood on a platform of giving youthful individuals a voice, lowering knife crime and tackling the local weather emergency.

Ms Bokhari solely entered politics in 2017, becoming a member of the Liberal Democrats earlier than standing as a candidate in the 2019 General Election for the Sutton and Cheam constituency.

Zack Polanski – Green

Zack Polanski will be a part of Sian Berry and Caroline Russell as the third consultant of the Green Party to sit down on the London Assembly.

Mr Polanski has been an activist and campaigner on varied points throughout London and has been a spokesperson for Extinction Rebellion.

Having been a candidate in the 2019 General Election, ending third in the Cities of London and Westminster constituency, Mr Polanski this 12 months completed third in the West Central London Assembly constituency and was elected as the third member of the Green Party’s London-wide checklist.

Sakina Sheikh – Labour

Lewisham councillor Sakina Sheikh was elected to the London Assembly as the second member on Labour’s London-wide checklist.

A self-proclaimed local weather justice campaigner, Ms Sheikh has stated “we’d like politicians who stand as much as builders, oil firms and the finance business” and has demanded “fearless management from City Hall” to deal with homelessness in London.

Ms Sheikh has stated she can be “unequivocal” in her dedication to “redistribute energy and assets again to the individuals”.

Recommended For You