Labour’s Sadiq Khan re-elected as London Mayor after seeing off Tory challenge

Sadiq Khan has gained a second time period as London Mayor in a lift to Labour’s fortunes after a torrid evening in England.

The incumbent gained 1,206,034 votes in each rounds, seeing off a challenge from Tory Shaun Bailey who gained 977,601.

He additionally beat a string of more unusual candidates together with Count Binface, who gained 24,775 votes, and actor-turned-‘free speech’ campaigner Laurence Fox.

Fox gained 47,634 votes or 1.8% – which implies he’ll lose his £10,000 deposit.

But his share of the vote within the first spherical was down greater than 4 factors since 2016. Tory Shaun Bailey stated in his concession speech that he’d been “written off” by the press – however not Londoners.

“A crude tradition battle is pushing us additional aside,” Mr Khan stated in his victory speech as he known as on Londoners to “heal these damaging divisions” in society.

Tonight’s election outcome was but extra excellent news for the Green Party, who got here third with 8% of the vote – up two factors since 2016. The Lib Dems misplaced their deposit on 4%.

Mr Khan took City Hall from the Tories in 2016 after defeating Tory Zac Goldsmith within the second spherical of votes.

Boris Johnson had held the function from 2008 to 2016, after returning to Westminster as an MP in 2015.

Scroll down for the leads to full

Sadiq Khan gained 1,206,034 votes in each rounds, seeing off a challenge from Tory Shaun Bailey who gained 977,601

Read More
Read More

Mr Khan had been anticipated to win a decisive victory however Labour sources expressed concern forward of the outcome about turnout on Thursday as voters went to the polls.

There had been additionally preliminary jitters that some pure Khan voters had been so assured of his victory that they’d given their first-preference votes to fringe candidates.

The outcome will come as a lift to Labour after the occasion suffered a brutal defeat within the Hartlepool by-election and shedded greater than 200 seats within the English native council elections.

Labour fared higher on Saturday, successful mayoral races in North Tyneside and Salford, as properly as snatching the West of England and Cambridgeshire & Peterborough mayoralty from the Tories.

Read More

Some aides had been genuinely shocked on the Cambridgeshire outcome, the place Labour’s Nik Johnson gained on a 14% improve of vote share regardless of his occasion coming third final time.

Andy Burnham was comfortably re-elected in Greater Manchester with 67% of the vote – an elevated share – whereas Steve Rotheram secured a second time period in Liverpool City Region with 58%.

Despite the torrid leads to elements of England Labour did significantly better than anticipated in Wales, retaining management of the Welsh Parliament underneath Welsh chief Mark Drakeford.

And in Scotland Labour notched up virtually the identical vote share as the Tories in total constituency outcomes, at 21%.

The London outcome got here as Labour headed into meltdown with Sir Keir’s sacking of occasion chair Angela Rayner.

It is the primary transfer in a brutal reshuffle by Sir Keir, who stated barely 24 hours in the past that he would take accountability for the outcomes.

It sparked a wave of recriminations amongst MPs – certainly one of whom branded the sacking “totally idiotic”. Ms Rayner was a stalwart of the Corbyn period but in addition had broad help from Labour’s base – successful double the votes of her nearest rival for deputy chief.

And regardless of Sir Keir’s choice Ms Rayner stays his deputy – as that function is elected by occasion members. That means she is going to nonetheless wield appreciable affect on the occasion and have a public profile.

London mayor election outcomes

First Count:

Sadiq Khan (Lab) 1,013,721 (40.05%, -4.19%)

Shaun Bailey (C) 893,051 (35.28%, +0.25%)

Sian Berry (Green) 197,976 (7.82%, +2.02%)

Luisa Porritt (LD) 111,716 (4.41%, -0.21%)

Niko Omilana (Ind) 49,628 (1.96%)

Laurence Fox (Reclaim) 47,634 (1.88%)

Brian Rose (LRP) 31,111 (1.23%)

Richard Hewison (EU) 28,012 (1.11%)

Count Binface (Binface) 24,775 (0.98%)

Mandu Reid (Women) 21,182 (0.84%, -1.21%)

Piers Corbyn (LLL) 20,604 (0.81%)

Vanessa Hudson (AWP) 16,826 (0.66%)

Peter Gammons (UKIP) 14,393 (0.57%, -3.07%)

Farah London (Ind) 11,869 (0.47%)

David Kurten (Heritage) 11,025 (0.44%)

Nims Obunge (Ind) 9,682 (0.38%)

Steve Kelleher (Soc Dem) 8,764 (0.35%)

Kam Balayev (Renew) 7,774 (0.31%)

Max Fosh (Ind) 6,309 (0.25%)

Valerie Brown (Pink) 5,305 (0.21%)

Second spherical top-up votes:

Sadiq Khan (Lab) 192,313

Shaun Bailey (Con) 84,550

Recommended For You