Home Breaking News Sadiq Khan faces fight for second term as London nmayor

Sadiq Khan faces fight for second term as London nmayor


The London Mayor candidates

  • Shaun Bailey (C)
  • Sadiq Khan (Lab)
  • Luisa Porritt (LD)
  • Sian Berry (Green)
  • Kam Balayev (Renew)
  • Vanessa Hudson (AWP)
  • Count Binface (Binface)
  • Richard Hewison (EU)
  • David Kurten (Heritage)
  • Piers Corbyn (LLL)
  • Brian Rose (LRP)
  • Valerie Brown (Pink)
  • Laurence Fox (Reclaim)
  • Steve Kelleher (Soc Dem)
  • Mandu Reid (Women)
  • Niko Omilana (Ind)
  • Max Fosh (Ind)
  • Nims Obunge (Ind)
  • Farah London (Ind)
  • Peter Gammons (UKIP)

The 2016 London Mayor vote, in numbers

  • Turnout: 2,596,961 (45.31%)
  • First Count:  Khan (Lab) 1,148,716; Goldsmith (C) 909,755; Berry (Green) 150,673; Pidgeon (LD) 120,005; Whittle (UKIP) 94,373; Walker (Women) 53,055; Galloway (Respect) 37,007; Golding (Brit) 31,372; Harris (Cannabis) 20,537; Furness (BNP) 13,325; Zylinski (Ind) 13,202; Love (Love) 4,941.
  • Elected: Khan

What time are the London mayoral election outcomes introduced?

Vote counting began on Friday, May 7, at 7am.

Due to coronavirus precautions which are being carried out at polling stations, a closing outcome within the mayoral is just not anticipated till the afternoon of Saturday, May 8, on the earliest, however a Sunday outcome can also be doable.

Results from seven ‘First Past The Post’ seats (FPTP) within the London Assembly could also be declared on Friday night – these are Bexley & Bromley, Brent & Harrow, Ealing & Hillingdon, Havering & Redbridge, Lambeth & Southwark, North East and West Central.

The remaining seven FPTP seats might be declared on Saturday afternoon and night. These are Barnet & Camden, City & East, Croydon & Sutton, Enfield & Haringey, Greenwich & Lewisham, Merton & Wandsworth, and South West. 

The London-wide Proportional Representation top-up seat outcome could come late on Saturday, however might be on Sunday.

About our outcomes

Our outcomes information are offered by the Press Association. Changes are calculated in opposition to a council’s or parliament’s composition on the time of the election, slightly than in opposition to the composition ensuing from the earlier election. The Press Association solely collates outcomes for elections already scheduled to happen for May 6, 2021, so some council by-elections could not function in our information.