Home East London London Assembly election: The results so far

London Assembly election: The results so far


The Conservative Party has held the London Assembly constituency seat of West Central, as the primary election results roll in.

The constituency had been earmarked as a possible swing seat for Labour, however Conservative Tony Devenish narrowly defeated Labour’s Rita Begum to retain the seat he received in 2016.

But the Conservative Party’s majority has fallen dramatically, from 14,564 in 2016 to simply 2,225 on this yr’s election.

Elsewhere, the Conservatives comfortably retained the constituency seat of Bexley and Bromley, with Peter Fortune to take over the seat vacated by MP Gareth Bacon, beating Labour candidate Stefano Borella with 97,966 votes to 47,389.

Here is Peter Fortune’s victory speech. (Excuse the dodgy digital camera work it has been a protracted day) pic.twitter.com/vTRuvGCbvD

— Joe Talora (@jtalora) May 7, 2021

Labour, in the meantime, have retained their seats in Lambeth and Southwark in addition to Brent and Harrow.

Dr Onkar Sahota, Labour Assembly Member for Ealing & Hillingdon since 2012, additionally retained his seat.

Marina Ahmad will take over the seat held by MP Florence Eshalomi, whereas Krupesh Hirani will take over Brent and Harrow from former Assembly chair Navin Shah.

Here is (a part of) Marina Ahmad’s victory speech pic.twitter.com/kkTT3G3jRS

— Joe Talora (@jtalora) May 7, 2021

In Lambeth and Southwark, Green Party candidate Claire Sheppard beat the Conservative candidate Hannah Ginnett to second place, securing 36,933 votes, which is a rise of 11,140 votes since 2016.

Turnout on this yr’s election had been anticipated to be low, however figures from the constituencies which have so far declared results present solely a slight drop from 2016 figures.

In Bexley & Bromley, voter turnout fell from 47 pet cent in 2016 to 44 per cent this yr, whereas Lambeth & Southwark noticed turnout fall from 44 per cent to 41 per cent.

In the ultimate results of the evening, Labour retained the North East constituency, with Sem Moema taking the seat that had been held by Jennette Arnold for 17 years earlier than she retired, whereas Keith Prince of the Conservative Party held his seat of Havering & Redbridge.

Havering & Redbridge had been recognized as a possible swing seat, however Mr Prince ultimately beat his Labour rival Judith Garfield by 15,327 votes, rising his occasion’s majority from 1,438 within the earlier election.

Results for the remaining seven constituencies in addition to the London-wide seats will likely be introduced tomorrow (May 8), with the London Mayoral election results to be introduced both tomorrow evening or Sunday (May 9) morning.