David Moyes and Lukasz Fabianski recognised with awards following remarkable West Ham season

David Moyes was named Manager of the Year on the 2021 London Football Awards after the unimaginable job he has executed turning West Ham United from relegation battlers to Champions League contenders.

The Hammers’ primary Lukasz Fabianski beat off rivals similar to Chelsea’s Edouard Mendy and Alphonse Areola of Fulham to be named Goalkeeper of the Year within the capital on the similar digital awards ceremony.

West Ham boss Moyes took on the job on the London Stadium for the second time in his profession in December 2019 with the membership sitting one place above the drop zone and in actual hazard of falling into the Championship.

Video Loading

Video Unavailable

Click to play
Tap to play

The video will auto-play quickly8Cancel

Play now

The Scot steadied the ship and after the coronavirus enforced lockdown, West Ham got here again to motion firing on all cylinders and the crew haven’t seemed again since.

The award is okay recognition for the unimaginable transformation Moyes has dropped at West Ham and will not be the supervisor’s solely award this season.

With 5 video games to go Moyes is likely one of the favourites for the League Managers Association Manager of the Year award alongside Pep Guardiola and Brendan Rodgers.

Read More
Read More

Despite a slight blip up to now two matches the place the Hammers have misplaced to each Newcastle and Chelsea, West Ham are nonetheless within the combine for Champions League soccer subsequent season.

The Hammers sit simply three factors off the highest 4 with 5 video games remaining, a situation barely plausible simply 12 months in the past.

If West Ham usually are not capable of safe a top-four end that will be on no account a failure, to maintain his injury-ravaged squad in competition proper till the tip is testomony to the work Moyes has executed.

European soccer of any sort subsequent season can be a positive reward for the wonderful teaching, recruitment and administration throughout an extremely testing interval.

Lukasz Fabianski beats Ricardo Pereira to the ball for West ham agaisnt Leicester City. (Photo by Plumb Images/Leicester City FC via Getty Images)

Lukasz Fabianski beats Ricardo Pereira to the ball for West ham agaisnt Leicester City. (Photo by Plumb Images/Leicester City FC through Getty Images)

Fabianski joined West Ham in 2018 for what now appears like a discount £7 million. The ‘keeper was named Hammer of the Year in his first season and has additional cemented himself as one of many league prime No.1’s this season.

The Polish worldwide has saved 9 Premier League clear sheets and made an exceptional 94 saves in 31 matches, usually contributing important stops in West Ham’s European push.

The Hammer Tweeted: “Proud and pleased to be named the LFA Goalkeeper of the Year Award” after receiving his trophy on Tuesday.

Three different Hammer’s had been up for gongs on the awards ceremony however Declan Rice and Tomas Soucek misplaced out to Harry Kane for the Player of the Year award.

0 West Ham United v Brighton Hove Albion Premier League

Why must you join?

In every soccer.london West Ham bulletin, we’ll be bringing you the most recent breaking information, switch options and remark items, in addition to the important thing speaking factors for followers.

We’ll additionally ship particular newsletters when large tales break or there is a particular occasion taking place.

How do you join?

It’s straightforward and solely takes seconds.

Simply sort your electronic mail tackle into the field on the prime of this text – or any article on the West Ham part of soccer.london actually – labelled ‘Get the most important each day tales by electronic mail’ and click on ‘Subscribe’.

And that is it, you are all set.

If you resolve later that you just now not want to obtain the emails, merely comply with the unsubscribe hyperlink in one of many newsletters – however we do not suppose you may need to.

For extra particulars, click on right here.

Rice was additionally pipped to the Young Player of the Year accolade with Arsenal Bukayo Saka choosing up the trophy.

Manuel Lanzini’s surprise strike towards Tottenham was additionally neglected in favour of Erik Lamela’s north London Derby rabona strike for Spurs.

Recommended For You