Home Breaking News Bath Rugby’s pack power them past London Irish into the European Challenge...

Bath Rugby’s pack power them past London Irish into the European Challenge Cup semi-finals


Bath Rugby are actually simply two video games away from their first silverware in 13 years after a 26-13 victory over London Irish on Friday night time in the quarter-finals of the European Challenge Cup.

The membership’s illustrious honours board’s final entry was again in 2007/08 when the Blue, Black and White beat Worcester Warriors 24-16.

Now Stuart Hooper’s males need to repeat the feat with dynamic backrowers Zach Mercer and Taulupe Faletau offering the magic abilities to companion the brute drive of the tight 5.

London Irish took the lead inside the first six minutes with excellent hooker Agustin Creevy bursting off the again off a maul from a 5m lineout to power via the tried sort out of Joe Cokanasiga who regardless of being the greater man acquired overpowered by the low place of the Argentine worldwide.

However two minutes later lock Josh McNally powered over from shut vary for the first of 4 tries from the forwards, all completed from a collective distance of about 10m, if that.

The excellent Will Stuart trucked over for a brace of tries at the entrance of a pod of Bath ahead on each events and will have even had a hat-trick had he not been held up over the line in the second half.

Read More
Read More

While the finishes could have been from shut vary, Stuart’s first strive was a beautiful coast-to-coast rating from Bath with man of the match Zach Mercer breaking off the again of a scrum near his personal line earlier than offloading to Taulupe Faletau who chipped the ball and began a foot race with Paddy Jackson. Bath regathered, unfold the ball large and touched down for the decide of the scores at The Rec.

The Exiles stored their hosts on their toes, including a pair of penalties via Paddy Jackson to drag it again to 19-13 with quarter-hour remaining however Mercer’s late strive secured the victory.

The makeshift half again pair of Ben Spencer, who kicked three conversion and banged the different into the upright, and Cam Redpath who performed most of the contest out of place at fly-half after Orlando Bailey failed a HIA following a collision with Albert Tuisue, managed the ultimate phases to place Bath’s title in the hat for the draw on Sunday.

Are you mad about Bath Rugby?

If so, you could possibly obtain the newest membership information straight to your telephone by signing as much as our WhatsApp service.

Bath Rugby author John Evely will ship you hyperlinks to the breaking tales, direct to your cell, through the easy-to-use app.

Among the issues you may anticipate are switch information, interviews, match stories, damage updates, staff information and reside blogs. You may even use it to ask him a query.

If you wish to enroll, save the quantity 07870 507032 to your telephone (you will need to do that to obtain our messages), then ship BATH RUGBY in a message to that quantity through WhatsApp. We advocate saving the contact to your cell as ‘Bath Rugby News’.

To unsubscribe at any time, simply ship STOP BATH RUGBY through WhatsApp to the similar quantity and you can be faraway from the service. Your quantity is not going to be used for any objective aside from to replace you on all issues Bath Rugby.

Bath Rugby: 15. Anthony Watson, 14. Joe Cokanasiga, 13. Jonathan Joseph, 12. Cameron Redpath, 11. Ruaridh McConnochie, 10. Orlando Bailey, 9. Ben Spencer, 1. Beno Obano , 2. Jack Walker , 3. Will Stuart, 4. Josh McNally, 5. Charlie Ewels (c), 6. Taulupe Faletau, 7. Josh Bayliss, 8. Zach Mercer.

Replacements: 16. Jacques du Toit, 17. Juan Schoeman, 18. Henry Thomas, 19. Mike Williams, 20. Miles Reid, 21. Will Chudley, 22. Max Clark , 23. Alex Gray,

London Irish : 15. Tom Parton, 14. Ben Loader, 13. Theo Brophy Clews, 12. Terrence Hepetema, 11. Ollie Hassell-Collins, 10. Paddy Jackson, 9. Nick Phipps, 1. Facundo Gigena, 2. Agustin Creevy, 3. Lovejoy Chawatama, 4. George Nott, 5. Rob Simmons, 6. Matt Rogerson (c), 7. Blair Cowan, 8. Albert Tuisue.

Replacements: 16. Matt Cornish, 17. Harry Elrington, 18. Oliver Hoskins, 19. Chunya Munga, 20. Ben Donnell, 21. Sean O’Brien, 22. Ben Meehan, 23. James Stokes,

Referee: Frank Murphy (Ireland)

Assistant referee: Anthony Woodthorpe (England) and Phil Watters (England)

TMO: Ben Whitehouse (Wales)